In Virginia the possession and use of Marijuana is illegal. Despite efforts from many advocacy groups the Commonwealth has not and has no current plans to legalize marijuana use, possession or sale. Therefore if you are caught with Marijuana in your possession you are likely to be facing the consequences that come with it.
A first offense Marijuana charge carries with it a $500 fine and a sentence of no more than 30 days in jail. That does not mean you will have to go to jail, but if the Court deems it appropriate then the sentence will not be more than 30 days. In addition you could be sent to drug safety classes, given community service and will have your driver’s license suspended for at least 6 months.
Subsequent Possession of Marijuana Offenses are treated as Class 1 Misdemeanors and can carry all the potential punishments associated. Maximum penalties could include incarceration up to 12 months, fines up to $2500 and further loss of Driver’s License.
There are many ways to handle possession cases. Frequently there are issues with the cause of arrest or the drug testing with which an experienced attorney can help you deal. Even if an offense does not seem like a “big deal” there are always consequences to being charged with and being convicted of any crime.
Your record is something to leave to chance, get the help of an experienced Virginia attorney on your side. We can help you understand all the risks you could be facing and structure a defense to suit your needs based on the facts. Every case is like our clients, unique.