Possessing or purchasing alcohol while under the age of 21 in Virginia is a serious offense. Regardless of the nature of the use, if you are caught in possession of alcohol you could be facing very serious consequences. Under Virginia Code §4.1-305, the possession or purchase of alcohol by someone under the age of 21 is a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
Any person found guilty of Virginia Code §4.1-305 could face:
- A mandatory fine up to $2500;
- A mandatory minimum of 50 hours of community service as a condition of probation supervision;
- A suspension of the license to operate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth for anyone over the age of 18 for up to 12 months;
- Monitoring by an alcohol safety action program or community based probation service;
- Up to 12 months in jail.
Underage drinking in Virginia is a serious matter and should not be taken lightly. Our attorneys have the experience to help you deal with this serious charge. Contact us today.